Senate House

The University has more than 20,000 students and 12,000 staff from all walks of life and all corners of the world. No two days are ever the same at the University of Cambridge.

The University is a confederation of Schools, Faculties, Departments and Colleges. The 31 Colleges are governed by their own statutes and regulations, but are integral to the make-up of the University.

Students are members of the University and of an academic Faculty or Department. Our students also belong to a College community. This is an arrangement that offers pastoral and academic support for each individual.


Students live, eat and socialise in one of the University’s 31 autonomous Colleges. Undergraduates receive College supervisions – small group teaching sessions. Supervisions are regarded as one of the best teaching models in the world.

Each College has its own internal procedures. They select their own students, subject to University regulations. Most Colleges admit both undergraduate and postgraduate students. College representatives sit on the University Council and Finance Committee.

See a list of Cambridge Colleges


There are six Schools at the University. These each form an administrative grouping of Faculties and other institutions. They are:

There is a Council of each School. This includes representatives of its Faculties and Departments. The Schools are represented on the General Board.

Faculties and Departments

University Faculties organise teaching and research into individual subjects or groups of subjects. Their work is normally organised into sub-divisions called Departments.

Centres of studies are controlled by committees of management. These bring together representatives from several disciplines.

See a list of our Departments