Honorary degree recipients with Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor.

The University confers higher doctorates in Divinity (DD), Law (LLD), Science (ScD), Letters (LittD) and Music (MusD). These are either:

  • full degrees by submission and assessment of major academic work
  • titular degrees honoris causa – honorary degrees

Other doctorates, such as the PhD, are conferred only by submission and assessment. When higher doctorates are conferred honoris causa the recipients are individuals of outstanding national, or usually international, achievement in their field. Normally no more than eight honorary degrees are conferred in a year. Recipients can be of any nationality.

Occasionally the Master of Arts degree (MA) is also conferred as a titular honorary degree. This degree is for those who have made exceptional and direct contributions to the life of the University or the City of Cambridge.