The University has a central senior administrative team. They are responsible for the day-to-day management of the University.

Academic, research and support staff work throughout the University and Colleges. They are crucial to the University’s success and reputation.

The Chancellor

The Chancellor of the University is Lord Sainsbury of Turville.

The Chancellor is elected for life as the constitutional head of the University although the role is now largely ceremonial. The Chancellor is elected by the Senate, which comprises all senior graduates of the University. In modern times, the Chancellor's principal public role has been the conferment of Honorary Degrees at an annual ceremony. Yet this is only a small aspect of his continuous overall involvement with the University.

In the UK university system, the office of Chancellor is held by a distinguished individual, from academia or public life. They are not usually resident and do not hold any other University office.

The Chancellor of the University of Cambridge is elected in a ballot of the Senate. The Chancellor is responsible under the Statutes for adjudicating in certain disputes, and is Visitor of several of the Cambridge Colleges.

The Chancellor also presides at major ceremonies. The best-known being the annual ceremony for the conferment of Honorary Degrees.

The Vice-Chancellor

The Vice-Chancellor is Professor Deborah Prentice.

The Vice-Chancellor is the main academic and administrative officer of the University. They are appointed for a period of up to seven years.

They chair the Council of the University, the General Board of the Faculties and the Finance Committee of the Council. Among the main tasks of the Vice-Chancellor are to:

  • provide leadership, academic and administrative to the whole University
  • represent the University externally, both within the UK and overseas
  • secure a financial base sufficient to allow the delivery of the University's mission, aims and objectives
  • carry out certain important ceremonial and civic duties


Five Pro-Vice-Chancellors are appointed to support the Vice-Chancellor. Their responsibilities are determined by the Vice-Chancellor and the University Council. These responsibilities currently include planning and resources, research and education. The office of Pro-Vice-Chancellor is limited to six years.

The Registrary

The Registrary is the principal administrative officer of the University. They are Head of the Unified Administrative Services and Secretary of the University Council.

The Registrary reports to the Vice-Chancellor. They are responsible for ensuring the University's business is conducted properly.


Two Proctors are elected annually on the nomination of the Colleges. They are primarily disciplinary and ceremonial officers. They are responsible for maintaining good order in the University. Four Pro-Proctors support the Proctors.