The University is governed through central bodies, principally the Regent House, the Council and the General Board of the Faculties. These bodies include representatives from across the University.

The Regent House

The Regent House is the governing body and principal electoral constituency of the University. It has more than 5,000 members, including University Officers, and Heads and Fellows of Colleges. It makes and amends the regulations that govern the University.

The Senate

The Senate was the governing body of the University until 1926. It consists of all holders of the Cambridge MA or other higher degree and all current members of the Regent House. The Senate now elects the Chancellor and the High Steward, the high officers of the University.

The Council

The Council is the principal executive and policy-making body of the University, reporting to the Regent House. It has overall responsibility for the administration of the University, planning its work and managing its resources. It also deals with relations between the University and the Colleges. The Council includes 16 elected academic members, four external members and three student members. The Vice-Chancellor is chair of the Council.

The Council has many standing committees including the Finance Committee and the Planning and Resources Committee.

The General Board of the Faculties

The principal duty of the General Board is to advise the University on educational policy and to control resources. It is responsible for maintaining a high standard of teaching and research.

The Board of Scrutiny

The governance of the University is overseen by the Board of Scrutiny; a watch-dog which includes Proctors, Pro-Proctors and eight elected members of the Regent House.