The University Council has submitted to the Regent House, the University's governing body, the names of eight renowned individuals, seeking authority for their admission to Honorary Doctorates at a Congregation in the Senate House on Wednesday 21 June 2017, at which the Chancellor, Lord Sainsbury of Turville, will preside.

The nominees are:

Doctor of Law

Professor Sir Malcolm Grant, Honorary Fellow of Clare College, lawyer and university leader

The Lord Turner of Ecchinswell, Honorary Fellow of Gonville and Caius College, economist, businessman and financial regulator

Doctors of Science

Professor Jean-Marie Lehn, former Alexander Todd Visiting Professor in Chemistry, Nobel Laureate, chemist

Professor Eric Maskin, Honorary Fellow of St John's College and Jesus College, former visiting student of Darwin College, Nobel Laureate, economist

Professor Janet Rossant, Darwin College, developmental biologist

Dame Stephanie Shirley, Honorary Fellow of Murray Edwards College, information technologist, businesswoman and philanthropist

Ms Sophie Wilson, Honorary Fellow of Selwyn College, computer scientist and software engineer

Doctors of Letters

Professor Manuel Castells, Honorary Fellow of St John's College, Balzan Laureate, sociologist

Creative Commons License
The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For image use please see separate credits above.