The University of Cambridge has today submitted nominations to the Regent House for the conferment of honorary degrees in June 2010. Eight distinguished individuals are nominated.

Those submitted are:

GEORGE JOHN MITCHELL, Hon. G.B.E. Lawyer, formerly a United States Senator, sometime Chairman of the International Body on Arms Decommissioning in Northern Ireland and Chairman of the Northern Ireland Peace Talks, United States Special Envoy for Middle East Peace (Doctor of Law).

RATAN NAVAL TATA, Hon. K.B.E., Chairman of the Tata Group of Companies. (Doctor of Law)

Dame LOUISE NAPIER JOHNSON, D.B.E., F.R.S. David Phillips Professor of Molecular Biophysics Emerita in the University of Oxford. (Doctor of Science)

Sir ANDREW JOHN WILES, K.B.E., M.A.,Ph.D., F.R.S., Honorary Fellow of Clare College, James S McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics, Princeton University. (Doctor of Science)

GEOFFREY WILLIAM HILL, M.A., F.R.S.L. Honorary Fellow of Emmanuel College, poet and critic, University Professor and Professor of Literature and Religion Emeritus, Boston University. (Doctor of Letters)

RICHARD SENNETT, F.R.S.L., Hon. F.R.I.B.A. Visiting Fellow-Commoner of Trinity College, University Professor of the Humanities, New York University, Professor of Sociology and Academic Governor, The London School of Economics and Political Sciences. (Doctor of Letters)

Sir HARRISON BIRTWISTLE, C.H., F.R.A.M   Composer, Henry Purcell Professor of Composition Emeritus, King's College, University of London. (Doctor of Music)

Dame EVELYN ELIZABETH ANN GLENNIE, D.B.E., F.R.A.M., F.R.C.M.   Percussionist. (Doctor of Music)

It is expected that these Honorary Degrees will be conferred at a Congregation to be held on Monday, 21 June 2010 presided over by The Chancellor (pictured).


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page.