The Vice-Chancellor is among those to receive Honorary award.

I am delighted... to be associated with an institution that is committed to becoming known for learning that is fed by world class research.

Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge

Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, has received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of South Wales.

The University of South Wales' Chancellor, Dr Rowan Williams, who is also Master of Magdalene College, presided over the ceremony, which was part of the first graduation ceremony for USW students.

Students from Diploma to PhD level wore new graduation gowns and mortarboards in the University colours of red and grey.

On receiving his Honorary Doctorate of Science, Prof Sir Borysiewicz said: “Universities are unique institutions that play a formative role, not only for students, but throughout society. I am delighted to have received this Honorary award from the University of South Wales, and to be associated with an institution that is committed to becoming known for learning that is fed by world class research.”

The ceremony saw hundreds of Creative Industries students graduating in St David’s Hall, Cardiff.

Martin Turner, the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) President, also received an Honorary award.


Graduation continues this week, where the following distinguished individuals will become Honorary Fellows:

  • Professor John Barrow – Research Professor of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Cambridge
  • Professor Polina Bayvel – Professor of Optical Communications and Networks, University College London
  • Professor Chen Zhigang – Chairman of Suzhou University of Science and Technology
  • Gerard Elias QC – Barrister and Standards Commissioner for Wales
  • Margaret Hodge MBE MP – Chair of the Public Accounts Committee and MP for Barking
  • Michael Lawley – Chairman of Cooke & Arkwright, Governor of the University 2001-2013
  • Datuk Dr Choo Yuen May – Director of the Malaysian Palm Oil Board
  • Lord Morris of Aberavon KG PC QC – Chancellor of the University 2001-2013, former Attorney-General
  • Paul Murphy MP – Former Secretary of State for Wales and Northern Ireland, MP for Torfaen

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image rights, please see the credits associated with each individual image.