Academy of Medical Sciences

Eight researchers from the University of Cambridge have been recognised for their contribution to the advancement of medical science by election to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Academy Fellows are elected for excellence in medical research, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for their conspicuous service to healthcare. The following Cambridge researchers have been elected this year:

Professor Carol Brayne, Professor of Public Health Medicine and Honorary Consultant Public Health England
Professor Nicholas Coleman, Professor of Molecular Pathology
Professor Berthold Göttgens, Professor of Molecular Haematology
Dr Philip Jones, Programme Leader MRC Cancer Unit and Honorary Consultant in Medical Oncology at Addenbrooke's Hospital
Professor John O’Brien, Professor of Old Age Psychiatry
Professor Willem Ouwehand, Professor of Experimental Haematology
Professor Antonio Vidal-Puig, Professor of Molecular Nutrition and Metabolism and Honorary Consultant in Metabolic Medicine
Dr Douglas Winton, Senior Group Leader, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute

Professor Sir John Tooke PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said: “The Academy of Medical Sciences represents the excellence and diversity of medical science in the UK, and this is evident in the broad range of expertise demonstrated by this year’s new Fellows. They each bring a unique perspective which we will value immensely. Their election is a much deserved honour for the outstanding achievements they have shown throughout their careers. I know they will contribute greatly to the Academy, and I am delighted to welcome them all to the Fellowship.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 2 July 2014. The complete list of Fellows elected this year can be found on the Academy's website.

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image rights, please see the credits associated with each individual image.