Nine researchers from the University of Cambridge are among 46 world leading UK researchers who have been elected to the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

The Fellows have been elected for their contribution to biomedical and health research, the generation of new knowledge in medical sciences and its translation into benefits to society.

This year's elected Fellows have expertise that spans women’s health, immunology, public health and infectious disease among many other fields.

Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said: “As we elect new Fellows each year, the Academy continues to grow as a unique and productive hub of the best minds in UK medical science. Our expanding and evolving Fellowship allows the Academy to play a vital role in tackling the major health challenges facing society today and in the future.

“The election of these 46 exceptional biomedical and health researchers is a well-deserved honour. Each newly elected Fellow has made an outstanding impact in the community, contributing to the development of better healthcare - from fundamental scientific understanding to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease. I am delighted to welcome them to the Academy and greatly look forward to working with them all in the future.”

The newly elected Fellows include Professor Giovanna Mallucci, whose research is pioneering new treatments for dementia and who was recently announced as one of the five associate directors of the UK Dementia Research Institute. 

Professor Giovanna Mallucci said: “Election to the Fellowship is a great honour and distinction, internationally recognised, and I am delighted and proud to be awarded it. This is a tremendous achievement in any medical research career: a milestone in a scientific and personal journey. It is a real privilege to join this this community of distinguished, inspirational and luminary leaders in the medical sciences.”

Four of Cambridge’s Fellows are cancer specialists, including CRUK Cambridge Centre Director Professor Richard Gilbertson.

Professor Gilbertson said:  “I am deeply honoured to have received this recognition of our work and feel privileged to join such a wonderful organisation dedicated to promoting excellence in medical science, ultimately for the good of patients. This honour belongs to my many postdocs, PhD students, technicians and wonderful collaborators who over the years who have worked with me to pursue fantastic science. The cadre of scientists elected from Cambridge also reflects the vibrant cancer research community in our city and the terrific support of the clinical school.”

The University of Cambridge Fellows elected in 2017 are:

  • Professor Sheila Bird OBE FRSE, Visiting Senior Fellow, MRC Biostatistics Unit, University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine and Institute of Public Health and Visiting Professor at Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Strathclyde University
  • Dr Jason Carroll, Senior Group Leader, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Richard Gilbertson, Li Ka Shing Chair of Oncology, Head of Department of Oncology, Director, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Centre, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Gregory Hannon, Royal Society Wolfson Research Professor of Molecular Cancer Biology, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Roman Hovorka, Director of Research, WT-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Arthur Kaser, University Chair of Gastroenterology, Honorary Consultant Physician, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Giovanna Mallucci, van Geest Professor of Clinical Neurosciences, Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge; Associate Director UK Dementia Research Institute at University of Cambridge; Programme Leader and Head of Neurobiology, MRC Toxicology Unit, University of Leicester
  • Professor Hugh Markus, Professor of Stroke Medicine, Clinical Neurosciences, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Christine J. Watson, Professor of Cell and Cancer Biology, University of Cambridge

In addition, two Fellows were elected from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute:

  • Dr Anne Bertolotti, Programme Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Dr Matthew Hurles, Senior Group Leader, Human Genetics, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 28 June 2017.

Creative Commons License
The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For image use please see separate credits above.