Five University staff, two members of Microsoft Research Cambridge and a member of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge are among the 44 new Fellows named by the Royal Society.

The scientists elected from the University of Cambridge are: Ian Paterson, Professor of Organic Chemistry; Professor John Richard Anthony Pearson, Schlumberger Cambridge Research and Senior Visiting Scientist, BP Institute; Trevor William Robbins, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience; Dr David John Spiegelhalter, Senior Scientist, MRC Biostatistics Unit, Institute of Public Health; and Professor (Robert) Daniel St Johnston, Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow, The Gurdon Institute.

The new Fellows elected from Microsoft Research Cambridge are: Professor Andrew Blake FRS, Senior Research Scientist, Microsoft Research Cambridge; and Dr Luca Cardelli FRS, Assistant Director, Microsoft Research Cambridge.

Dr Philip Richard Evans FRS, Member of the Scientific Staff of the Medical Research Council, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, has also become a Fellow.

Ian Paterson

Professor Paterson is distinguished for his contributions to the stereocontrolled synthesis of biologically active natural products and pioneering work on new methods and reagents for the total synthesis of polyketides, which include anticancer agents, antibiotics and immunosuppressants.

John Pearson

Professor Pearson has pioneered developments in fluid mechanics, including the first asymptotic analysis of viscous flow past a cylinder, a rapid-distortion theory of turbulence and studies of Marongoni convection, and the instability of flow under rollers.

Trevor Robbins

Professor Robbins has made major contributions to knowledge of how neurotransmitter systems of the brain's reticular core determine behaviour and cognition via interactions with specific forebrain regions.

David Spiegelhalter

Dr Spiegelhalter is distinguished for many contributions to theoretical and practical aspects of statistical methodology for complex problems, especially in the health sciences.

Daniel St Johnston

Professor St Johnston is distinguished for his contributions to science's understanding of the establishment of body axes in development, notably through his recent discoveries relating to phylogenetically conserved pathways that generate cell polarity.

Andrew Blake

Professor Blake is distinguished for his numerous pioneering achievements in image analysis which have established him as the leading image analysis researcher of his generation.

Luca Cardelli

Dr Cardelli is distinguished for his innovative work on the theory and implementation of programming languages, extending to mathematical modelling of interactive and mobile systems.

Philip Richard Evans

Dr Evans is distinguished for his work in creatively exploiting techniques of protein crystallography and specific mutagenesis to analyse important biological systems.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page.