The University Council has submitted to the Regent House, the University's Governing Body, the names of eight renowned individuals, seeking authority for their admission to Honorary Doctorates at a Congregation in the Senate House on Wednesday 17 June 2015, at which the Chancellor, Lord Sainsbury of Turville, will preside.

The nominees are:

Sir John Eliot Gardiner (Honorary Fellow of King's College), conductor:
Doctor of Music

Mr Neil MacGregor, art historian and museum director: Doctor of Letters

Sir James Mirrlees (Fellow of Trinity College), economist: Doctor of Science

Julia, Baroness Neuberger (Newnham College), rabbi and medical ethicist:
Doctor of Divinity

Judge Hisashi Owada (Honorary Fellow of Trinity College), judge and
diplomat: Doctor of Law

Sir Michael Rawlins, physician and pharmacologist: Doctor of Science

Dame Paula Rego (Honorary Fellow of Murray Edwards College), artist:
Doctor of Letters

Professor Judith Jarvis Thomson (Newnham College), philosopher: Doctor of Letters

The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page. For image rights, please see the credits associated with each individual image.